Indiana Jones – Indy 4 Update

   News on the Indiana Jones front. Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull is scheduled for release May 22, 2008. Members of the cast include Harrison Ford (obviously), Shia LaBeouf, Cate Blanchett, John Hurt, and Karen Allen. The official site for the film is here.
I have to say that the pictures of Harrison Ford in his Indy gear look great. He doesn’t seem to have aged a day. Obviously, he is a tad bit older than he was in the last Indy movie but you wouldn’t know it by looking at him, it may be apparent in his movements but I would venture a guess that Harrison Ford at his age is probably in better shape than I am.
Shia LaBeouf should look familiar, his mug has been all over TV lately as he plays the leading human role in the new Transformers movie. I have not been able to find out his character’s name or his role in the movie.
The lovely Cate Blanchett will also join the Indiana Jones cast in this installment, again, no information on her character’s name or significance.
I assume that all of you reading this post have seen Indiana Jones: Raiders of the Lost Ark. If you haven’t stop reading right now, go to the nearest retail store and buy it/watch it/absorb it. It is a classic film full of memorable performances and dialog. If you are a Star Wars fan, play close attention because there are Star Wars references hidden and scattered through the Indiana Jones films. If you have seen Indiana Jones: Raiders of the Lost Ark then you will recognize Karen Allen as she reprises her role as Marion Ravenwood the daughter of Abner Ravenwood who is alluded to in Raiders as one of Indiana Jones’ closest friends and mentor.
John Hurt is pegged to play the role of Abner Ravenwood. I have not heard anything really about the script but just the fact that the Ravenwoods are involved excites me greatly. This film already has all the makings of being another fantastic installment in the series. Who knows, maybe they are planning to hand the reigns over to Shia LaBeouf. We will have to wait and see. At this point I am going to reserve judgment because I am not entirely sure how I feel about that.
Ashamedly, I have not seen the Transformers movie yet. I have it on my desk at home but have not found the time to pop it in. However, some reviews I have read indicate that Shia LaBeouf’s performance was more robotic than the Transformers themselves. I will definitely have to give my own review after I see the film. I have high hopes for him, I am being optimistic and think he will be great in the Indy movie.
Lastly , here are some images released by Paramount Pictures from the new Indiana Jones film… enjoy.

ford2_indycrystalskull_gal.jpg

fordlabeouf_indycrystalskull_gal.jpg

ford3_indycrystalskull_gal.jpg

6 Responses to Indiana Jones – Indy 4 Update

  1. worshipcity says:

    Yeah I’m super excited for this release! What’s more surprising though is not having seen Transformers?!?! Wow! Well, it’s Michael Bay so you’ll get tons of action, explosions, and cheesy humor. The great upside is that you get transforming Transformers throughout! I thought Shia did a good job but I’m really pumped about seeing what he’ll do here! Seeing this kid from Holes to Disturbia to Transformers and yet here to an Indy flick is fun!

  2. annieinmn says:

    I am so excited for the Indy movie. Those have been favorites of mine FOREVER! I just hope it will live up to the hype of the new movie and also the strong history (minus temple of doom) of the previous movies.

    ps. I havent seen Transformers either.

  3. sleepyfrog76 says:

    I cannot WAIT for this movie! Love Indiana Jones. Love Harrison Ford. Love Shia LeBeof.

    I saw Transformers and it was a lot better than I thought it would be. Of course, I didn’t really have high hopes for it. Shia did an excellent job. Definitely the best thing about the movie. 🙂

  4. klytus7 says:

    Two of the best Robots on screen period. Optimus Prime and Megan Fox!

  5. ram says:

    Come on Transformers would still be good without Megan Fox.

  6. pooperman says:

    Megan Fox made that movie. Without her it would have just been some crappy go-bots movie with not nearly enough action, the knockoff movie Transmorphers movie is better than this movie if you take out Megan Fox.

Leave a Reply

