Sun has set on Vampire Series “Moonlight”

According to Wikipedia, “On May 13, 2008, CBS announced that Moonlight was officially canceled.” I watched each episode of the first season of Moonlight and had very mixed feelings about it. At the end of each episode of Moonlight I was always reminded of the movie The Princess Bride. There is a scene in The Princess Bride where the main character Wesley is recounting his time spent with the dread pirate Roberts. Westley tells how every night the Dread Pirate Roberts would say,”Good night, Westley. Good work. Sleep well. I’ll most likely kill you in the morning.” That is how I felt at the end of each episode of Moonlight. “Nice episode, pretty entertaining, an improvement over last week. I’ll most likely kill this DVR timer in the morning.” This went on week after week until I found myself watching the season finale thinking, “wow that ended up being a pretty good series.” Let me clarify, Moonlight is no Heroes by any means, but it was definitely better than the Bionic Woman of which I only made it through 4 episodes before I jumped ship.

Side Note: It looks like NBC has jumped ship on the Bionic Woman as well.

The individual episode plots were typically far more interesting than the overall storylines that carried from episode to episode which were very predictable and not well played out. I will say that by far the best episode involved one of the main characters from the first half of the season getting killed. It was at that point that I finally took notice and said, “this show is really starting to improve.” Unfortunately, plot lines like that were often overshadowed at the end of the episode when the guilt-ridden, sullen, unhappy vampire takes one more step towards finding true love with the beautiful human girl who thinks is torn between her boyfriend and the Vampire of her dreams who is tall, pale and a little fangy. Kind of the illegitimate child of Interview with a Vampire and Dawson’s Creek (see image right).

Anyway, now I find myself having to face the fact that however reluctantly I am sad that Moonlight will not be returning. I thought that the writing got better over time, I think there were a couple of casting issues and a few of the plot devices were a little cheesy but all in all it was entertaining. On the upside, I will have an empty DVR slot this fall.

Just to throw a little salt in the wound Alex O’Loughlin (Mick St. John, Vampire Detective) was recently featured in one of TV Guide’s Top 20 Sexiest Sci-Fi stars on Television or some pointless list like that. Can you really consider him a Sci-Fi star if his show got canceled after one season? I don’t know, I suppose he should at least be able to cash in on his one season of fame.

Leave a Reply

