Telivision’s Fall Lineup you can’t miss.

The Fall Season starts in September, for those of you who haven’t finished painfully programming your DVR or TiVo to capture all the shows you are anxiously anticipating. Here is a breakdown of some great shows that will be returning in the fall and some newcomers that might prove promising. I submit to you in all its glory the frontrunners for the 2008-2009 television season…

Fox

Bones

Returning for Season 4 – premiers 09.03.08 (2hr premiere)

I don’t get to watch Bones as often as I would like, it didn’t quite make my DVR cut. I have to have my limits. I do enjoy the show and I catch reruns when I can on TNT. I did hear that last year’s season finale had a huge shocker ending. I won’t give it away but if there is anyone who would like to discuss it, shoot me an email or post a comment.

Dollhouse

Season 1 – Midseason Offering – premiers 01.05.09

Episode 1.1:“Echo” This is a new series created by Joss Whedon; basic premise is a group of assassins who after every job have their personality erased. I highly recommend that everyone check out Dollhouse, Joss Whedon never disappoints.

Fringe

Season 1 – premiers 09.09.08

Episode 1.1: From what I understand, FBI agents investigating mysterious deaths on a plane need the help of brilliant/insane man who only talks to his grandson. I have heard good buzz about this show, but I have to admit I am a little skeptical about the premise. I have heard the plot twists like Lost does.

Prison Break

Returning for Season 4 – premiers 09.01.08

I watched the first 6 or 7 episodes of Prison Break in Season 1. It was a good show, but then I missed one or two episodes and by that point, I was so far behind I knew that I would have to either jump ship or wait and get the DVDs… I jumped ship but it is such a popular show that I included it in this list.

Terminator: Sarah Connor Chronicles

Returning for Season 2 – Premiers 09.08.08

Episode 2.1 “Samson and Delilah”

For a more detailed discussion of Sarah Connor Chronicles see my post titled Sarah Connor Chronicles – She’s Back, Again.

CW

Beverly Hills 90210

Season 1 – premiers 09.02.08

I am not ashamed to admit that I was an avid watcher of the original series in the 90s. That is the only reason that I am even going to give this show a one episode chance. I have absolutely no expectation that it will compare in any way to the original, I am watching episode one out of respect for the original.

Smallville

Returning for Season 8 (most likely the final season) – Premiers 09.18.08

Episode 8.1 “Odyssey”

I thoroughly enjoy Smallville, my wife doesn’t understand why. I think she mostly just got really irritated with Lana in just about every episode. That’s why she doesn’t really like it. I refuse to discuss this show any further because Starkville’s House of El would put anything I wrote to shame. Please, please go check out their website and podcast. This is the best resource for Smallville you will find on the internet. Steve and Derek are fantastic!

Supernatural

Returning for Season 4 – Premiers 09.18.08

Episode 4.1 “Lazarus Rising”

I don’t watch Supernatural, I know a lot of people who do watch it and say it is a great show. I don’t know if anybody important died at the end of Season 3, perhaps in the finale, but the title “Lazarus Riding” is a reference to the Bible in which Christ brings back a man named Lazarus from the dead. I can only assume there is some correlation between the episode and the reference to the Bible.

Let me just say, I am sorry about all the links to the CW’s website. I really hate their site but I wanted to provide you with all of the show’s official site links.

CBS

Ghost Whisperer

Returning for Season 4 – Premiers 10.03.08

Episode 4.1 “Firestarter”

I really enjoy Ghost Whisperer; season 3 ended on a bit of a downer… the last episode made my wife cry. I look for this next season to take a bit of an upswing and have some good things occasionally happen to Melinda Gordon as opposed to the crap-storm that usually follows her around like a little brown cloud.

Numb3rs

Returning for Season 5 – Premiers 10.03.08

Episode 5.1

Numb3rs is just good television. Each episode wraps up nicely at the end, not a lot of complicated story arcs that carry over from episode to episode. If you want popcorn TV it doesn’t get much better than Numb3rs.

NBC

Chuck

Returning for Season 2 – Premiers 09.29.08

Episode 2.1

In my opinion, aside from Sarah Connor Chronicles, Chuck was the breakout show from last year. This show is a great combination of action, drama and comedy. The characters are all fun and surprisingly complex. After every episode you are left sitting on the couch with a big grin looking forward to next week’s episode. If you missed season 1, go get the DVD or check out all the posts that I put up last season discussing the weekly episodes.

Heroes

Returning for Season 3 – Premiers 09.22.08

Episode 3.1 “The Second Coming”

What an interesting title… I am not going to be spoilerific in this post, let me just tell you that this title in my opinion refers to Peter’s storyline in my opinion. Look for an upcoming post that updates what we know about Season 3 of Heroes. For now check out the TV promo running on NBC.com

Knight Rider

Season 1 – Premiers 09.24.08

Episode 1.1 “A Knight in Shining Armor”

I haven’t heard too much about the new Knight Rider series. I haven’t decided whether or not I am going to give this one a shot. If anyone has any information they would like to share about the show please shoot me an email or post a comment.

The Office

Returning for Season 5 – Premiers 09.25.08

Episode 5.1 “Weight Loss”

One of the shows I am anticipating the most is the return of the Office. If you have not seen every episode of the office, you have until 09.25.08 to buy the DVDs and watch every episode leading up to what promises to be the funniest season yet. Two intense love triangles occurring at once, Andy-Angela-Dwight and Pam-Jim-Michael. Will Angela choose Andy or Dwight? Will Jim choose Pam or Michael?

Leave a Reply

